Best of the NW Awards

Posted by Metro East on Wednesday, May 2, 2018

MetroEast_Best of the NW_2

If you’ve ever wandered down the hall past the staff offices at MetroEast, you may have noticed a large collection of plaques proclaiming winners in any number of community media competitions. Many of them were awarded to Multnomah Cable Access or Multnomah Community Television, the two names we were known by before we became MetroEast. From the very beginning our staff has quietly amassed awards for their excellence in media production. The awards on the wall are only a fraction of the ones MetroEast has won over the years. And we haven’t slowed down one bit!

Friday, April 27 and Saturday, April 28 found most of the MetroEast staff and a handful of volunteers attending the Alliance for Community Media conference for the Northwest Region held at Open Signal (formerly Portland Community Media) in NE Portland. Folks came from all over to network, to share and to learn. The Northwest region encompasses eight states with the attendees representing community television and radio stations, as well as other individuals involved in community involvement and civic engagement on one level or another.

The culmination of the two-day event was the Best of the Northwest media awards presentation. Rarely have MetroEast volunteers submitted their work for this competition. But that is changing. This year the ever-youthful Larry Smith, producer of MetroEast’s longest running program, The Bodysmith, was named a finalist in the competition. Additionally, Jordan Ribbon and Dajour McKinley, two of our talented youth from Rockwood, were recognized as finalists in the Produced by Youth category.

MetroEast staff took home several awards and were runner-ups in several other categories. Below is a complete list of our award winners. If you are a volunteer community producer here at MetroEast, this competition might be just the motivation you need to complete your next project! In the meantime, we’ll just keep on making entertaining, enlightening and impactful media.


Studio Talk Show

Community Hotline – 1000th Episode (winner)
by Emily Vidal & Monica Weitzel

Local Performance

Holiday Showcase (winner)
by entire MetroEast staff


Tucker Maxon School (winner)
by John Lugton & Seth Ring

Best of the NW

First Runner-ups

Non-English Programming

Welcome to the Reynolds School District (first runner-up)
by Ivana Horvat, John Lugton, Emily Vidal

Produced by Youth

Poloetic (first runner-up)
by Jordan Ribbon & Dajour McKinley


The Body Smith (first runner-up)
by Larry Smith

Forums and Events

2017 Gresham Teddy Bear Parade (first runner up)
by Tony Evans & Keith Thomas

Instructional, Training, and Educational

Prepare for Your Hearing (first runner up)
by John Lugton, Emily Vidal, Ivana Horvat


Categories: Uncategorized

Responses are currently closed.