Primary tabs

Workshop Catalog

Basic Editing: Final Cut Pro X - -

Learn how to use Apple's sophisticated Final Cut X program to edit your movies together. Import, arrange and cut footage to tell a story. Learn how to optimize audio and drop in music. Use effects, transitions and titles to enhance your film and story.

Tuesday, June 20, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, June 21, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register
Monday, April 10, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, April 12, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register
Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 11:00am to 2:00pm
Sunday, May 21, 2017 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Details Register
Basic Studio: Camera - -

Learn to operate the cameras in Studio A. Students in this one-part class will learn to use the cameras controls, as well as camera technique through instruction and hands-on practice. This class certifies the student to operate Studio A cameras ONLY.
To become fully certified to operate audio, graphics, or video switching equipment, or produce programs, please take the "Basic Studio - Control Room" workshop, offered each month.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Details Register
Tuesday, April 11, 2017 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Details Register
Basic Studio: Control Room - -

Learn multi-camera production in our 3-camera studio. 2 part class. This class is required to produce your own studio show, or to volunteer as crew on productions. Students will learn basic operation of Studio A and B video switcher, audio mixer, and character generator.
For more advanced training, MetroEast offers several classes on a once-per-quarter basis: Studio Switcher, Studio Audio, Character Generator, and Studio Directing. These classes are not required for certification. Please complete the Basic Studio class before registering for advanced studio classes.

Saturday, June 10, 2017 - 11:00am to 2:00pm
Sunday, June 11, 2017 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Details Register
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Thursday, April 27, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register
Tuesday, May 16, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register
Character Generator: TriCaster - -

Add pizazz to your production with beautiful graphics! 
Create graphics for your Studio A, Studio B, or Mini-Mobile production using the LiveText software. This versatile program offers hundreds of fonts, millions of color options, and the ability to import graphic elements created in other programs. You can also create moving graphics such as "credit rolls" and "crawls".

Thursday, June 29, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register
DSLR Camera Photography - -

Click! Just captured the money shot. Boom! Thank you photo class. Learn how to capture crisp, captivating images that evoke emotion and tell a story.

  • Working with removable lenses
  • Catching focus
    • Manual
    • Auto
  • Exposure Triangle
    • ISO
    • F-stop (iris)
    • Shutter
  • F-stop for shallow depth of field
  • White Balance
  • Editing in Lightroom

Tuesday, June 27, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register
DSLR Camera Videography - -

Come learn the meat and potatoes of DSLR Videography! What types of projects are they good for? How do I get good audio? And other classics... Class covers:
 

  • Working with removable lenses
  • Shutter speed
  • F-stop for shallow depth of field
  • Second system sound (Zoom H6)
  • Frame Rates
  • White Balance
  • Exposure Triangle (ISO, Iris, Shutter)
  • Slider Dolly, Jib

Wednesday, June 28, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register
Field Camcorder: AC160 - -

Learn the basic skills of single camera field production in this 2 part workshop. Participants will practice Panasonic AC160 Camera operation.
Part 1: Camera operation and shooting.Part 2: Lighting, audio, and program planning.

Monday, June 12, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, June 14, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register
Monday, April 17, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, April 19, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register
Monday, May 22, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, May 24, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register
iPad & GoPro - -

Looking to dip your toe into video production? We have a set of tricked out iPads at your command. The iPad class will introduce you to the basics of video production, a little bit of lighting and sound, a dash of composition and a heaping cup of storytelling. Come find out how to use this accessible gear to tell your story and change your community. June 15 11am to 2pm (bring your lunch for a 30 minute break).

  • Play with fun features
    • Slow motion
    • Panorama
  • 3 shot in camera edit with story theme
    • (with lights,
    • Mic,
    • tripod)
  • Go out and shoot the shot types, 6 shots, story theme
  • Shoot a story with figurines
  • Edit in iMovie
  • “Post” to youtube, facebook

Saturday, April 15, 2017 - 11:00am to 2:00pm
Details Register
Saturday, June 24, 2017 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Details Register
Wednesday, May 10, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register
MetroEast Orientation - -

An introduction to MetroEast Community Media and a prerequisite for all classes. Students will learn the history and goals of community media, tour the MetroEast facility, and learn about workshops and policy. Please call to pre-register for this free workshop.

Saturday, April 8, 2017 - 10:00am to 12:00pm
Details Register
Saturday, June 24, 2017 - 10:00am to 12:00pm
Details Register
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Details Register
Tuesday, May 9, 2017 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Details Register
Saturday, May 27, 2017 - 10:00am to 12:00pm
Details Register
Tuesday, June 6, 2017 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Details Register
Studio Audio - -

Review mixer basics, learn advanced functions, and study different types of mics.

Thursday, May 25, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register
Using Virtual Sets - -

Learn how to create effective "Green Screen" effects, and apply the "Virtual Sets" available on the Tricaster switchers used in Studio A, Studio B, and the Mini-Mobile.

Thursday, April 20, 2017 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Details Register